FFP Portfolio
 
Picture
The other day in class, Mr. Kemp asked us if we knew what our long term goals were. Most people were saying like "Get an 80%" or "Get my story published." But the only thing that came into my head when he asked us wasn't for school, it was much more long-term than that. My thoughts immediately went to what I want for my life.

Most teenagers want an exciting and adventurous job. Not me. Some kids would say they want to be a firefighter, a police officer, an astronaut, or a lawyer. Interesting jobs like that.

Most people would say what I want to do with my life is plain, maybe even boring. I really don't think it is. You see, I want to open my own bakery.

As you can see with the pictures I've put with this post, I like to make some pretty intricate thing. And yes, I did make both of the things in the pictures.

Quite a few people have doubted me when I said that I wanted to go to culinary school and take business classes. Even my mother asked me if I'm sure that's really what I want to do with my life and that maybe I should look up what the pay is.

Honestly I don't care what the pay is. My cousin and I both want to be pastry chefs so her and I were planning on doing this together. Some people out there might think that I haven't put very much thought into this, when in actuality I've put a lot of thought into this. Enough thought that my entire high school electives for grades 11 and 12 are revolving around my dream.

Financial accounting for both years, intro to entrepreneurship, I've taken or am taking all the foods courses available, I've spent countless amounts of time looking up different Universities in Canada that offer culinary programs and I've even decided I want to go to Niagara University.

So although some people may say my dream is boring or even silly, it's what I want to do with my life. No matter what anyone says I've chose my dream and I'm sticking to it.

Angela
4/23/2013 01:12:00 pm

I'm glad you at least found something that you clearly love, I and many others are still looking for ourselves. My dream is similar to yours as many people have told me that it's more unrealistic but you and I know better than to listen to those Laurel. I'm happy you want to open your own little bakery I find it sweet! (Get it? ;) But still best of luck!

Reply



Leave a Reply.


Laurel Austin