FFP Portfolio
 
Is it weird I'd rather spend my weekends watching movies and reading books? Is it weird I don't have a desire to drink until I pass out? Am I weird for not wanting to go to parties because that means I have to socialize?

I'm not weird because I like to be alone. What is weird is the looks I get from strangers. I am by no means saying that everyone I've ever passed in the street gives me a look of disgust, but countless people have looked at me that way as I pass by. I am a pretty friendly person, although I'm very shy and have awful stage fright, nine times out of ten I will smile at a stranger as we walk passed each other on the side walk. I'm a fairly innocent looking girl, the only time I've looked "intimidating" is about a year ago when I had bright red hair. Even then I looked harmless.

I wish people would stop judging me because I'm a teenager. Please don't clutch your purse tightly to your side when I come near. Please don't stare at me that way. Please don't whisper about me when you think I'm not listening. Please don't assume I'm a reckless hooligan who parties 24/7 and drinks and does drugs.

So please don't look at me like I'm weird when I pull out my book and start reading on the bus. It's not weird.



Leave a Reply.


Laurel Austin